Book Confessions

I am a huge reader. Literally, I would rather stay home on a Friday night than hang out with my friends. Since I am in college, I should be hanging with friends, but sometimes curling up to a good book is better. Everybody I know is aware that I am an avid reader. They always ask me for book recommendations or assume I have read a popular series. Aside from The Hunger Games and The Divergent series, (and ok you got me, Fifty Shades of Grey series), I am not much of  series kind of reader. I prefer to read the ones that don’t get as much notice. Hidden gems let’s call them. So I have compiled a list of my very own book confessions.

  1. I have never read Harry Potter. Whenever I tell people that, they give me this weird look because everyone has read that series. Well, not true. It’s not that I don’t like the premises of the story, it’s just that the genre is not my cup of tea. Not to mention, it’s hard to relate to such young characters when you’re in your late teens. I have wanted to give them a try, but I just couldn’t. Maybe because everyone kept telling me that I HAD to read them. Just didn’t see the appeal is all.
2. Same goes for Twilight. That series became a hit when the movie came out. I was like 11 or 12 at the time. My whole junior high was obsessed with the series. I’m talking, students came to school in the merchandise, everywhere I looked someone had a copy of the book on their desk, and they would not stop talking about it. I think the constant praise and it being such a mainstream book killed my curiosity to read it. Not to mention I hated reading back then. Until this day, I still refuse to read it. Also, a lot of people have told me the writing is not too great. So pass.
3.I err….kind of liked Fifty Shades. Not in a, ‘oh I love it so much, I’m going he midnight premier of the movie’ type thing. Not at all. More in a ‘this book is utter garbage, but I can’t stop reading’ kind of thing. In fact, I hated both of the characters, but that didn’t stop me from reading the first two books. I’ve been reading the third for almost a year…Is it my favorite series? No, and far from being my favorite, but I don’t shame the people who read it. A lot of people have made fun of me for reading it. Whatever. You do you.
4.Angels and demon books are way overdone. I don’t like those kinds of genres to begin with, but I feel like there was a period where that was all that were published. Give me something else, like witches or aliens. Just not more angel vs demon things!

Leave a comment